top of page

Poppin'

It's all about to pop off! Just celebrated my 10 year anny at work, graduating my Bachelor's program in 4 weeks, starting my master's program in 6 weeks, kind of getting some bills under control and maaaaybe considering getting my license again- oh and the 4 year sobriety thang :). Whew...

I was talking with my mom last night and rambling about unrealistic ideas and it dawned on me and instantly flowed out my mouth that everything I listed above, at one point in time was a unrealistic idea for me. Holding a job for MORE than a year??!! NO WAY JOSE! NOT DRINK?! Are you KIDDING me????! So when I set goals for myself and they seem unreachable for the person I am sharing with it makes me sad that they might not possess this self-motivation. Only the people that have had to look at their life and said, "ugh, girlfriend...fix. this. shit. STAT" would understand how challenging it is at first to set out of this world expectations for yourself. Its only when you achieve the first one you feel invincible and look for another stretched goal to reach. So it makes sense that if you haven't had to push yourself beyond your limits why would you set unrealistic expectations for yourself- essentially setting yourself up for failure? I get it. I will never be that girl, but I understand why people are challenged to start. To them I say....just try it. You will be VERY surprised at what you are capable of. :)

I'd have to say 2016 was a pretty good year. I got to travel more than I had in the past, I was able to see my bestie IN Texas (which was an accomplishment ALLLL in itself), some bad situations came to an end which relieved stress from all my loved ones, annnnd oh yeh- I SURVIVED. I can only hope that 2017 is HALF as good to me!

bottom of page