top of page

What I have learned from my education...so far


So yesterday I "graduated" from my Bachelors Program- Actually, since I am not walking (maybe) it was just the end of my last class. I have spent a lot of time reflecting the past 24 hours about my life and where I am and the bad (unbeknownst at the time) I had to endure to get here. This brought me to change; what changes have naturally happened throughout this process aka what major lessons have I learned from my $57,000 education?

1.) How I view commitment and completion now

Continuing your education isn't all about the actual education and all the facts, info you learn. I believe the bigger picture is the commitment it took to persevere and complete your goal, to prioritize your time and make the necessary steps a priority. If I was an employer, THIS would be what is important to me. Did they complete the program? Even if it they took the extended route and it took 6+ years, DID THEY COMPLETE THEIR PROGRAM? Another biggie for me would be: How committed were they in their program? Were they a "C's gets you degrees" student or they actually applied themselves and wanted the best possible outcome. So according to my new thinking, on paper, I feel my commitment is truly represented through my hard work and dedication.

2.) There are 2 types of people in this world...

School has made me realize that there are lots of shitty people out there that do not care at all what you are up to; in fact, they might want to know just to use it against you in the future...somehow. But there is also a tiny group in the population that really does care and is excited for you to advance; they are genuinely happy for your accomplishments. These are the people I need to find and surround myself with.

3.) Seeking approval is not necessary*

The most shocking of the revelations yesterday was approval. I used to NEEEEEED this from everyone. I would worry if I didn't have it and would break my back to get it. Throughout these past years of being so busy with work and school my desire to be approved faded BUT interestingly enough, my own pride silently and humbly grew. I have finally become someone. A functioning member of society that is now part of the 36% that has obtained their BA and will soon be part of the 9% that has completed a Masters program. That makes me proud and it really does not matter what anyone else thinks.

*I said "it really does not matter what anyone else thinks," but I mean the naysayers; the ones who only ask about your life or give congrats through a forced gesture as to not look like an a**hole. We all have done it; I'm a naysayer to some. Some people's approval is necessary. The good people, the ones who I mentioned above that are happy for your accomplishments-THOSE PEOPLE WE NEED. I was fortunate enough to stumble into the most positive, supportive and driven groups on Facebook and IG through sobriety pages. THESE people can do ANYTHING they put their mind to and it is SO inspiring! I also am fortunate to have a few supporters IRL; some surprising ones too.

Landing the plane...

I guess what these rambling chalk up to is, yeh, I have learned about theories, mental issues, and finding out that there is such a thing as a fangirl of Psychologists greats annnnd I am one of them but there is a bigger picture to this process and experience.

I never in a million years would have imagined the mental and emotional growth continuing my education would bring but I support it. Its like getting sober in a way. If you can stick with it, you know the results are going to bring changes to create a better life than where you were before you started (school) or stopped (drinking), in this case. But you soon realize (after starting/stopping) it is never the changes you expected. For example, when I quit drinking I assumed my life AD (after drinking) would be a skinny, fit version of that current girl with the same attitudes and outlooks who, one day, would marry someone, my hero, and could maybe eventually casually drink again someday. THE END. I laugh now because that is so unrealistic and just not me at all- BUT that thinking process did keep me on my path, so I can't hate on it. Along the way I realized I needed more from life. I wasn't just going to be nothing; I didn't need someone else to be my hero; I needed to pull my head out of my ass and BE my own hero. It's my life and no one else is responsible for making it great. I owed it to myself to try.

What to learn from me and my mistakes...

I said it before and I'll say it again, if you can stick with it, whatever "it" is to you, the results are going to bring changes to create a better life than where you were before you started. So just do it and you will soon realize it is never the changes you expected...it is SOOOO MUCH BETTER.

bottom of page